"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

An internet advertising company appealed to businesses by advertising that Furniture Depot was able to increase its sales by 10% over last year. The internet advertising company believes they were reason for the increase in sales. But this argument is rife with holes and assumption. The given argument fail to consider other reasons for the increase in sales.

Firstly, the internet advertising company solely believes that they were the only reason for the increase in sales. There can be numerous reasons for increase in sales. It can be possible that the health of nation was quite good during the increased sale period. The health of economy was in turmoil during last year, hence sales were quite low. This year, the economy may have got better, therefore increasing the sales of most of the corporations. Had argument provided some evidence regarding the economy of nation, we have been better in substantiating the given case.

Moreover, we knew sales increased by 10% but we have no idea regarding the profitability. Maybe sales increased by 10% but still profit doesn't increased. Furniture Depot decided to sell their furniture at discounted rate in order to boost it's sales. They expected had company increased their sales by 20%, the profit would have increased, but as sales didn't increased by 20%, they may have made loss even increasing their sales. Had we have any evidence regarding increase in profitability then it would have been more cogent to assume that internet services boosted it's profit.

Lastly, the company invested a huge sum of money in marketing. They used internet advertising company, television advertising, offline advertising like poster in the neighbourhood. They also hired new marketing employees to boost it's sales. This all cumulatively increased it's sales but didn't increase it's profitability. It can also be possible, most of new customer came to store after seeing the advertisement in television than on the internet. Then in this case, television advertising agency helped more in increasing the sales than internet advertising company.

We have no clear evidence to support that the internet advertising company increased the profitability of Furniture Depot. Had the argument provided more evidence to substantiate that internet advertising company directly helped in increasing the sales of Furniture Depot, then it would have been more cogent and reliable to assume Furniture Depot's success demonstrated how using the internet services can increase the company profitability.