Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Discussing controversial topics can open the door to a multitude of interesting opinions and facts. But when discussed with individuals who have contrasting views , it may seem not so useful as one might think. Because very few people are willing to let go of their beliefs and the ground that they stand on just over a debate.

It is every single individuals right to have their own set of opinions on a topic that is in question. But when it involves having to change your opinion on something that you very dearly believe in , it may prove to be difficult. For example, when people converse on topics surrounding politics, it is very unlikely to see someone shift sides immediately. That is because that person is loyal and he knows his material. In his head the party that he supoorts might be doing the right thing and sometimes when an individual gets questioned about his or her intent towards the party that he supports, it may lead to heated conversations, unruly behaviour along with some bridges being broken among individuals who were past friends.

When discussing controversial topics it is important to note that as an individual you need only focus on laying your facts to set your ground and nothing else. Focusing on changing a person's contrasting views to your convenience is useless as in most cases you will not get the result you so dearly wish to have. Consider yourself in the same position and try to approach the situation from his or her perspective. Having done so you will realise that it is unlikely for you to choose the opposite side because you know deep down that the side that you are on is right and the same goes to the other person.

Having said so, it is also important to have an open mind when discussing about controversial topics because sometimes you may be wrong and it could lead to gargantuan problems. For example let's say you are talking about the incident that happened in the United States a few months ago when the cops harrased a black man. Now in your opinion it may seem like the cop was right in doing so, because he thought the person was a potential threat. But later evidences proved that he wasn't questioned due to that. The cop's actions were considered racial and abusive and you having said the cop is right puts you on the wrong side. In such cases being amenable might be benficial.

Hence I would conclude and say that discussing controversial topics with those having contrasting views is useless , but at the same time if the person is willing to have an open mind, it could prove to be good for both parties.