The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Dean's newsletter seems to be hinting at all the right information about the University of Wabash considering a community service requirement to ensure the all round development of it's students. But having looked at it carefully you notice to see vague information with ambiguous details that do not delineate the whole picture.

For instance, we can see that the Dean has mentioned in his newsletter that local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts. It is safe to say that the term "efforts' seems vague and not so clear. It could mean anything. We has reader's cannot connote has to what the term "efforts" means. Does the charity serve food to the people in need for it? Do they provide shelter? Knowing what the charity does would prove to be benficial to the students as they can donate or offer to help based on their needs.

It is also mentioned that the Dean's office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website. But it is unclear on what basis the charities have been approved. For all the reader knows, it could mean that the charities have been approved on the basis of the help that they have to offer or their locality or some other factor. Nonetheless it is unclear has to what the exact basis of approval is. This is vague information that could invite questions of credibility.

In the newsletter the Dean has also mentioned that the graduation requirement of carrying out community service is at least 8 hours of unpaid servce per month for a total of 9 months. But it is not mentioned has to whether that is 8 continuous hours or 8 hours split across 24 hours in a day. The same question arises with respect to the months. This sort of ambiguous detail could lead to a turmoil of confusion amongst the students in the university.

Nevertheless , it is clear from the Dean's newsletter that the University of Wabash is considering this community service in order to increase the development of the students holistically along with giving them the necessary real world exeprience that they need.