Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Communication between people with different viewpoints on either controversial or trivial topics is essential for society's development. The prompt suggests that it is not beneficial for people with opposite viewpoints to discuss controversial topics. Although they might not change their mind, it is very useful and important.

On one hand, people can be rigid about their thoughts. They are not prone to changing their belief system. For instance, when older generations converse with the youth, there is an immense generational gap between their school of thoughts. Senior citizens are too set in their ways to change their mind about their beliefs and ideals that they have followed all their life. A conversation between them would not be of use.

But certain people can be flexible in the way that they think. They can change their mind after hearing more about the reasoning of the other side. If we take a look at the aftermath of the manufacturing of vaccination for Covid-19, there were many people who did not believe in getting vaccinated. But a study by the University of Columbia showed a large increase in the number of people getting vaccinated (who were against the vaccine), after they spoke to various doctors about the benefits and the harm. Hence, this proves that people are willing to question their core beliefs when they talk to people with opposing views.

This prompt is very complex, as humans are complex beings. We definitely have stubborn characteristics as well as a willingness to change. Therefore, there is no harm in having such conversations as the result could be useful.