Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs

There are times when we start a debate or discussion we will have to always choose a side which might be for or against. In such situations, some people will never agree to views which is against their views. I believe there are still people who still practice this and hate it when they have questioned their beliefs. I agree that such people never change their mindset and get aggressive in their actions.

There are many such beliefs that people wish to question but they never ask as the answer are always the same and they don't like to clarify it. For instance, the temples in India have a lot of traditions that are been followed from ancient times and are still being followed without any reason. When asked for reasons they either ignore the questions or are called secular. The people have become blind in fear of Gods and they don't question the actions that are followed.

Similarly, In small villages there are a lot of taboos still followed like child marriage, burning widow wife with the husband and not touching anything inside the house when in periods, etc. When questioned about the such belief they say it's a tradition followed by their ancestors and they are still being followed for respect and to continue their traditions and culture. This belief had some valid points in the old day but the time and place have changed.

Although, there are times when you question the view of a very knowledgeable person. They have accepted our views but they don't readily change their mindset without the evident facts. Scientist always changes their beliefs when discoveries are found. They question our belief to get the knowledge and fully accept the opposing views with open arms. But still, they do hesitate to fully agree with them.

In nutshell, I agree that controversial topics with opposite views are not accepted by many people they have a fixed mindset that doesn't change easily.