Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most people can solve important problems in their lives by themselves or with the help of their families; help from the government is often unnecessary.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People often must deal with lots of tough issues to by themselves. This will raise the question of whether most people can solve important problems in their lives by themselves instead of being helped by the government. I disagree with the statement.

First of all, when people face financial problems they usually search for help from the government because the government can provide them with subsidies. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I studies in the National Taiwan University. I always had to rent an apartment outside the campus to live. However, the price of apartments near the campus were always expensive, and I did not have enough funds to afford these apartments. Fortunately, the Taipei city government just built many brand-new apartments, and the local government would offer a lower rents to the students. Therefore, I decided to lend other housings being offered by the local government, and these residences were relatively lower. Finally, I could have an affordable apartment to live at that time. By contrast, if I had not chosen to rent the apartment provided by the local government, I might have not been able to find a place to live.

Second, people always need to be helped by the government when they confront judicial issues. For instance, when I was an undergraduate, I lived in a city which had a higher crime rate. One day, I found that some cash in my apartment was stolen by the thieves. Therefore, I searched for the help from the owner of the apartment immediately. However, even if he reviewed the monitor of the apartment, we could not obtain some useful clues. Finally, I decided to ask help from the police. The police utilized many advanced tools, such as a face-detecting machine, to help me to find the thieves. As a result, I could get my money back in the end due to the assistance of the police. In contrast, if I had not decided to require the police to tackle this case, I might have not been capable of finding my funds back forever.

To sum up, I disagree with the statement. For one thing, we will often need to utilize the subsidies provided by the government. For another thing, we will always search for help from the government to address many judicial problems.