Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing

fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the

most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your

position.

The speaker thinks that educational institutions should take responsibility to dissuade students from fields of study which are not good for career developing. Though the statement is agreeable to some extent, there are some considerations which should be kept in mind while taking such big decisions.

Students build their career on the basis of which field they have studied in their student life. So choosing field of study, students should keep in mind the factors like job facilities, salary, social status etc. Say for example, a boy studying in Computer Science certainly has a better career prospect than who is studying in Arts, considering than salary, job facilities etc. So often teachers would insist them to prefer Computer Science than Arts, as being a Computer Engineer a student is more likely to be succeed in his career than a student who would study Arts.

However, the means of a bright career should not be the only factors which students should keep in mind. Another inevitable factor for choosing career path is the passion. Students should ask themselves too what they want, what they are good at. Like, if any one is good at photography, he should do it! If anyone loves the job of guiding travellers and tourists, he should definitely go for it! There are so many examples who are going to unorthodox career paths, building their own career and creating a new profession. Even there are many examples of switching careers to a completely different genre after discovering in which a man is good at. Such as, English Footballer Rio Ferdinand studied in the field of engineering before he realised he actually likes to play football and he is good at it. After switching his career, he has become a famous football player worldwide. There are so many examples like this. So educational institutions should inspire students to choose their career path not only considering job facilities and salary, but also their interest and passion.

In sum, the statement that student should be derived to the field of study which are good for career building is not completely favourable. The unorthodox careers and fields of study should also be encouraged to be followed if they are passionate about it.