The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the

population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number

of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island

should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies

from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of

rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped

accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when

Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered

in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted

result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

The letter says that by limiting the number of moped rentals, moped accidents would reduce to 50 percent that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville. The conclusion and the assumptions behind the conclusion seems cogent at first sight. However, if scrutinized deeply, the assumptions are found to be full of lacunas.

First of all, the assumption that if the town council of Balmer Island limits the number of mopeds, the number of accidents would reduce significantly is not completely favourable. If the number of mopeds is reduced, pedestrians and passengers riding in mopeds will increase. With extra load of passengers, the mopeds would be more prone to accident. So more investigation should be done to know the available transport options and pedestrian behaviour before reaching to any conclusion.

Secondly, the town council assumes that by limiting the number of rentals, accidents would reduce significantly. But it should not be forgotten that if moped rental is limited, there might be a increase of other transportation rentals. But there is no information presented on other transport vehicles, which are essential for drawing any conclusion.

Thirdly, there is no information about the population of Seaville. If population of Seaville is far less than Balmer Island, accidents are less likely to happen in Seaville. Also there is no comparison or data about geographical nature of the two islands. That Seaville achieved a 50 percent reduction in accidents last year is not enough to conclude that accident rate in Balmer Island would also decrease in the same rate this year. So other necessary comparisons of driving factors such as population, available transport options, number of accidents between two islands should also be presented.

In sum, the conclusion drawn in the letter is based on some seriously flawed assumptions. To validate this conclusion, further investigation is needed and more information about two neighboring island should be presented.