"Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed."

Education institutions have a lot of responsibility in educating students on subjects that will be necessary for their future knowledge. Students spend most of their life at schools before they head on to college. Educations institutions have an impact on how much students learn and how they will succeed in life and/or careers. Education institutions do not have the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study they are unlikely to succeed.

First, it is important for each individual to figure out their strengths and weaknesses for every field. Part of understanding yourself, understanding what you're good at and what you are not, is important for personal growth. If students are only exposed to what they are good at they will not expand their knowledge and skills in other areas they could potentially succeed at as well.

On the other hand, education institutions might know what students are good at and what they are not. This would save time for individuals to explore and fail in other areas. But I think it is important to consider that it is not always what you're good at, but what you like and are passionate about. For example, Bob may be really good at math and struggles with English but Bob would like to be an English teacher one day. Although it may be difficult for Bob to get better at English and master what he needs to know to be an English teacher, if he is passionate about it he will keep trying. Sometimes what we are good at does not necessarily match with what we want to do for career.

Furthermore, I think its important for students to explore other fields to find what they like. Maybe there's a student who is not good at a specific field or have a specific interested because they haven't explored others. Gaining knowledge and experience in other areas can lead to someone finding what they're passionate about and what they're good at.

In conclusion, Education institutions should not have the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study they are unlikely to succeed. Students will eventually figure out their strengths and weaknesses, succeed and fail, and they can decide what career they would like to pursue.