Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of

study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or

examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Helping students identify their areas of strengths and weaknesses, is part of many responsibilities an educational institution has towards its students. Working towards a broader aim, educational institutions, apart from imparting high quality knowledge and education, also should dissuade students from pursuing subjects they might not be successful at.

This is important because it so happens that many of the students fail to recognise their areas of strengths and likings, thus keep vacillating between different streams and consequently, lose a lot of their precious time and money. If an education system helps these students identify what are their areas of interest and wherein they are more likelier to succeed, then this can help develop students into able professionals at a younger age and thereby providing a society with a more coherent young crop of citizens and subsequently, saving the time which would have otherwise being spent in deciding and switching of careers.

Educational institutions with their large experience of a number of years of dealing with students and young minds, will find it easier to recognise that in which particular stream, a particular student is good at and is more likelier to achieve success. Also, more importantly schools and colleges can very easily identify , what are the subjects a student is not good at and also which are the fields wherein he/she has little chances of succeeding. This invaluable advice to young developing minds can channelize their strengths and efforts and help towards their progress.

It also has to be considered that, to understand and realize one’s own interests, strengths,is an individual’s responsibilty and that an educational institution like a school,college in no way is responsible to shape an individual’s personal decisions. Educational institutions also have so many students to deal with, so identifying each and every students areas of weakness and strengths and predicting wherein they can succeed or not, is tedious. But, as they say,a quality institution always has time for its students and spares no effort in ensuring their success, so institutions are responsible to provide career guidance and dissuade students from pursuing fields they might not be successful at.

Thus,educational institutions are responsible to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study which they are less likely to succeed in as they are the ones who are involved with many students and have large experience and database, to help identify a student’s strength and weakness.