The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams

Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many

of whom work only parttime.Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that

of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000.

Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and

it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with

Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a

good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications

are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, about the two real estate firms, writer is making assumptions based on datas and evidences which need to be more specific and thorough. On the basis of limited support, the writer’s judgement that Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty, doesn’t hold good and requires more indepth research and analysis.

The argument made by the writer is based on assumptions made on data which is looked upon superficially, things should have been looked at closely and in more detailed manner.The writer begins his argument by saying that Adams Realty has more number of employees than Fitch Realty. Here, we need to understand that having more number of employees doesn;t necessarily mean that the larger employee firm is efficient than the other. Maybe, Fitch realty is a more efficient firm working with lesser employees and producing intended results. Also, the argument says that most of the employees in Fitch realty are working on part time basis but no mention whatsoever is made about the number of employees in Adams Realty which work on part time basis- maybe almost all the forty employees in Adams Realty work on part time basis. Furthermore, in the argument it is said that Adams realty revenue in the last year, was twice that of Fitch’s Realty and also Adams’s had home sales that averaged $168,000 compared to a figure of $144,000 for Fitch. Now, this argument is merely representing numbers but what is required to be looked at is, the nature and characteristics of real estates sold by these two firms- maybe Adams Realty in the last year, has been more involved in properties which are in prime locations and which are larger in size or simply to state that Adams realty might be selling the “hot” properties in the market in the last year whereas, Fitch realty in its last year hasn’t been selling prime properties or properties that are not as good as Adams. So,inspite of not selling as many good properties as Adams, Fitch Realty’s average home sales is not far behind Adams Realty. So, the argument fall apart when there is no mention of the characteristics of properties involved.

Furthermore, the writer cites one of his personal experience when he says that, about 10 years ago he had listed one of his homes with Fitch Realty and it took them about 4 months to sell that house. On the other hand, Adams Realty took only a month to sell off the writers another home just about a year ago. Now, this comparison made by the author fails totally when there is no due respect paid to the fact that both the occurrences mentioned by the author happened years apart. Maybe, about a 10years ago, real estate was not in a good state at all – maybe the real estate market had collapsed and properties were not at all getting sold. On the other hand, when Adams Realty sold another home in a month just about a year ago, during that time real estate market might have been in very good shape and properties were selling really faster. Also, other doesn’t make any mention about the characteristics of both the properties, maybe the property that Adams Realty sold was one in a prime location and the one that Fitch Realty sold was not in a good location. So, again the writer’s argument doesn’t consider all aspects and falls short.

Furthermore, the argument could have been strengthened had it taken into account many things- such as the comparing the properties that both the Real estate firms have been selling, mention of number of employees in Adams Realty who work part time and full time, due consideration of the fact that two periods could be different to another and so, comparing a property sold about 10years ago with a one that has been sold about a year ago, seems invalid.