Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

The idea of the teachers explaining facts only after the student did their self-study on the trends, idea, and concepts of the topic would be a controversial thing. It can not be concluded as completely true vs false. Based on the scenario or situation professors’ somethings need to disclose the fact after students do their research and a few times giving partial view or glimpse of the facts would help them to do their research better.

When a concept is super easy and understandable to everyone, it makes sense to hold on to teaching the facts and asking the students to do their research before explaining or going through the topic. This help the students to understand the trends in the market and improve their knowledge, they might come up with a number of questions from their research which the professor can clarify why it is acceptable or not acceptable and could add facts while explaining. This could be the same scenario when the glimpse of the concept or topic has been covered already in the previous class or year. Here students are capable of going through self-study and understanding the ideas or trends.

In another way, the subject might not be impossible but a little tough or students are little ambivalent or equivocal on how to start the study or what are the required inputs or details to analyze it. In this situation, it would be beneficial for students if teachers could add a few facts. This gives the student a bit of clarity on what to do and what not to. They will also be confident while they are working and will have a clear understanding of what needs to be done and come prepared.

Additionally, teachers add facts to the lesson without students doing minimum basic research. There have been many debates on this stating that students are not capturing or students are being dependable on teachers and are not doing minimum research to understand the topic. If the scenario is as the above-mentioned it would be ok unless there is some special instance for the student for not doing a basic study of the topic. But when the concept itself is very new or unique, students definitely require extra care from teachers. Many of us would have come across such one scenario where our teachers took extra time to close a lesson just because it is new and harder for us to understand. Students doing some basic research might help but holding the lesson, for this reason, does not make sense.

Finally, it would likely be beneficial for students or educators to decide based on the scenario of the class. Irrespective of the above scenarios, the decision should also be taken based on the area students live for example, does the place provide the opportunity to do some extra research to understand the concept or not and on the capability of the student to read and analyze the concept. If the place does not have any opportunity such as the absence of library or internet services, holding to teach facts should not even come into the picture.