Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Essay topics in audio

In asserting that individuals should obey the just laws and disobey or resist the unjust law, the speaker failed to acknowledge the complexity inherent in the above statement as would be reveled in the essay. Notwithstanding, in sharp contrast to what the statement said, I believe laws at all times ought to be respected. For this essay, I assumed the word “laws” to mean the law governing a society.

Firstly, can a law be truly unjust? I sincerely doubt it because of the rigorous process undergone before an idea is passed into a law. In societies, the legislative arm consisting of all the persons representing each constituency seat over and over again over an idea to deliberate if it should be passed into law. After which election is undertaken and the side supported by the majority, determines the idea should be passed into law or not. If all this consideration is undertaken before a law is passed, then, it can be inferred, that most law of the land is just. Otherwise, it won’t be passed. Hence, logically and in reality, it won’t be erroneous to say that laws can’t be unjust.

Secondly, what most people look at as unjust law are simply laws that didn’t go down well with them. Possibly because of sentiments such as political sentiments, religious sentiments, etc. in these cases it would be erroneous to say that those laws are un just merely because you are biased. For instance, let’s assume a hypothetical society that approves predetermination of the sex of a baby. Some religious people believes that it a taboo for the sex of a baby to be determined via scanning before delivery, because for them, you are trying to uncover what their maker has kept secret. Assuming the nurse who is meant to administer these scans in the hospital is of that religious group, chances are that she would object to it and call it unjust to her. Who is it unjust to, she or the person who wants to be scanned? Obviously, her.

However, people from another school of thought might argue that some laws aren’t considered unjust out of mere

sentiments. They are unjust because people in the authority have deliberately decided to make it as such. Take for example in a society ruled by a dictator who wakes in the morning and increase tax rate by 50% without consulting the legislative arm because of his selfish interest. Won’t it be good people disobey rather than give in to such a huge demand? While I acknowledge that situations like this can pop up a times, I want to state clearly that it shouldn’t be mistaken to a law because it was never one. It is just a mere demand from the leader and not a law. Hence if disobeyed it is understandable.

In conclusion, some just laws are considered unjust for some people out of sentiments whereas some of the so called unjust laws can be fully accepted by some other persons. However, since whatever idea that is passed into a law is considered just by majority of the people in that society, it ought to be adopted and respected. Because by so doing does a society progress.