Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

The idea of laws is created, to maintain the harmony in the society and not to discriminate among the people. The main idea is to treat every people equal without no biasedness. So it is the responsibility of the individual to obey the law, as it safeguards the society. But as the claim suggests that we need to obey the just law and disobey the unjust, so the 'just law' and unjust is very subjective. It depends upon the perception of an individual on that subject. However, I can't completely agree on the statement.

The scenario where the state runs by communist ideas, then laws are just considered by an individual. So, there might be some laws which violate the fundamental human rights. For the example: the law implemented by China, One or none: The citizen can give birth to at maximum to only one child. So this violates the human rights. Similarly, the law implemented by the Myanmar state where it discriminated the minority group which forced them to migrate. So in these scenarios, we aren't supposed to blindly follow the states' rule. We need to voice out.

However, all the laws don't violate the human rights. Recently Supreme court of India has taken the step to ban the sale of fireworks in India's capital before Diwali to maintain the air quality. So in the perspective of distributors or retailer this law would be unfair. But this law would be just, as it curbs the air pollution to a certain extent.Since the sense of righteousness is subjective, it is reasonable to accept the laws that benefit the society.

The Government of India has taken the step to banned the sale of beef. For the people who follow Hindu religion would consider as the fair step, because the cow is worshipped and considered as god. But this wouldn't be just law for the Muslims. But has India's majority population is Hindus, to maintain the harmony and benefit of society, it is reasonable to follow certain laws.

In the end, there are some scenarios where laws clearly oppose the human right, where people need to voice out. However the individual definition of right is often subjective, so in that cases, it is better to adhere the laws, as the laws are formed to protect the whole society.