Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Laws are important parts of a society. Laws help people to live together in a calm and justified society. Some people may believe that every person has his own responsibility regarding obeying or disobeying laws just based on his judgment; others disagree. In my view, this not a good idea that every individual decides whether obey a law or not for three important reasons.

First, people do not have enough knowledge to know whether a particular law is a just one or not. A society includes different people living together, children, youths, adults, people with disability, etc. It is impossible to require them to learn basic information about how to understand if the law should be obeyed. On the other hand, if they are not familiar with these structures, they are not eligible to decide. It must be considered that even if we want people to study these laws, does the government have to consider a certain age? Does the government itself have to hold some course? If so, will the government teach these course impartially?

Second, if every person makes his own decision regarding evaluating the law, this may lead to irregularity. There are different people living in a society. They have their own religions and points of view so if every person wants to have his view regarding a certain law, no one can live in such a society. A law may would be a just person while it would be unjust for another one. As a matter of fact, there is not concrete reference to judge if a law is just or not.

In addition, some people such as felons can take advantage of this situation. They may have their own opinions and try to find some bad laws and consider those as just laws. This can lead to increase in crime in the society.

In sum, some people may think that it would be a good idea that every person has its judgment regarding a law but it would be detrimental rather than beneficial. Not only it is not possible but also can be harmful.