Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

It is the resoponsibility of the society to work under certains ethics and laws. The statement in this regards vaguely claims that individuals should follow laws which are percieved just and should disobey laws which are seemed unjust. Indisputably, it is very important for every individual of the society to follow basic priniples and laws for smooth governing. However, disobeying laws just based on personal judgement will lead to a chaotic situation within the society. Hence, I believe that individuals should follow basic principles and laws and at the same time, no one should disobey any law just based on personal subjective judgement.

Firstly, the statement doesn't clarify what constitues "just" and what constitutes "unjust" for an individual. Disobeying laws just based on personal opinions will not lead to peace and overall stability of the society. The reason being that the personal opinions, a lot of the times are dictated by the past experiences and the immediate situation, but not by the basic code of human ethics. For example, consider a situation where a person is in very urgent need of money for some personal emergency (or for even some societal benefit). Now, the haste deicisions that might strike to the mind involve malpractices like theft etc. If we take a while to understand the situation, any such action that will lead to his/her personal benefit, might cause a harm on some part of the society and if not checked might lead to some chaotic situation which can involve potential human lose. As the situation involved breaking some law which seemed "unjust" to the individual for the moment, it is not actually justified. Thus, breaking laws by claiming them unjust based on personal opinions should strictly be prohibited. Furthermore, strict punishments should be imposed on people breaking laws for personal benefit.

Moreover, by following laws, governement can ensure that harmony and peace is maintained in the society.

Having said that, it doesn't mean that every law that is being passed should be blindly followed by the society. If a society as a whole thinks that there is some need for reform, it should stand against the authority to ensure that the necessary change is being brought about. For instance, in the begining of 21st century abortion was illegal in the society. Hence, abortion was often practiced secretly and illegaly which involved unsanitary conditions, no safety for women, and very high prices. Society started revoling against this and necessary changes were brought about in the society. Thus, instead of just disobeying laws strong reforms and changes can be brought about when needed.