Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.
Throughout history the conflict between one’s own judgment and the judgment of
the lawmakers has given rise to many conflicts, wars and revolutions. In that context,
the claim that individuals should follow their own sense of righteousness by opposing
laws that are in their opinion unfair and following laws that are fair is justifed. Since
individual judgment is subjective, however, I cannot completely agree with the claim.
One of the negative consequences of blindly following a state’s laws becomes clear
when one considers authoritarian, ideologically extreme and fundamentalist countries.
It is highly likely that power-hungry and oppressive governments like Nazi Germany
and the Soviet Union are not founded on and buttressed by the most ethical laws.
For example, when my grandfather was stationed with the German army in the Czech
Republic in 1945, he was tasked with executing fve Czech partisans. As a soldier, he
should have followed orders and could have been sent to prison or executed himself if
he disobeyed. He managed to convince his superior that his pistol was rusty and would
not fre and thereby saved the lives of the partisans by disobeying a direct order. When
a state’s laws are in conflict with basic human codes of ethics, therefore, it becomes
clear that one should disobey orders.
Not all laws, however, violate human rights, so the decision to follow or oppose them
is not black and white. In some cases a subjective sense of what is right might actually
oppose a collective sense of what is right. For instance, I remember arguing with my
parents while in 5th grade in school that, based on my antipathy towards school at the
time, I had a right to freedom and should not be obliged to go to school. In fact, going
to school is required by law in Germany, and I was arguing to break the law based on
my own set of principles and rights. Since a sense of righteousness can be subjective, it
is sometimes reasonable to accept laws that beneft the whole of society as well as the
individual - even if the individual is not willing to accept that as a universal truth.
I furthermore can’t completely agree with the claim with respect to the statement
that society should obey “just” laws. There are certainly circumstances in which a whole
society’s sense of right and wrong has been manipulated by years of propaganda.
Consider the law passed in 1939 by Nazi Germany labeled the “Endloesung”, i.e., the
fnal solution. That law deprived Jewish people of any human rights and set the scene
for the holocaust. Through years of brainwashing, a large proportion of German society
accepted that law and actually believed that Jews were an inferior race. Therefore,
depending on the circumstances and the manipulative powers of a regime, even laws
that appear just to some are utterly appalling to humanity as a whole. Hence, the
subjective nature of right or wrong does not only vary from person to person but is
also subject to manipulation and deceit. For this reason I cannot agree with the claim
completely.
In conclusion, therefore, there are situations, such as when laws clearly oppose
basic human rights, in which the claim is true and useful. However, an individual’s
interpretation of what is right is often subjective and vulnerable to biased influences
by powerful regimes. Therefore the truth of the claim is limited.