The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

One of the major challenges in the modern world is the culture of excess consumerism. There seems to be no end to the consumption of the modern consumer. It is, however, more difficult to ascertain the cause of this consumer culture. In this essay, I argue that whilst technology is outpacing the needs of the modern consumer, this is not a causal relationship. The exponential rate of technological innovation is instead a manifestation of the scientific temperament and a desire to seek perfection, which should be commended. Rather, excess consumerism stems from a materialist desire to seek happiness in external pleasures, and this is a thirst which cannot be quenched.

The first remark that must be made is that it is too large a generalization to state that technology is outpacing the needs of the modern affluent consumer. Rather, some sectors of the technology industry, such as medical technology, environmental technology, and agricultural technology, are trying to meet the needs of the modern consumer. Cures for cancer, mitigation of climate change, and sustainable food production are some of the areas in which needs are far ahead of the technology.

Nevertheless, much technology has innovated far beyond human needs. Modern smartphones and smart televisions are just two examples of this. It is incorrect, however, to state that this technology is the cause of excess consumerism. On the contrary, they are simply stimuli which a latent desire inside the human being attaches itself onto. The desire does not exist within the iPad but within the human. It is the individual which views the iPad as an item which must be purchased. Thus the problem exists, not with the pace of technological progress, but with the worldview of the individual that seeks the pleasures uncontrollably.

As noted earlier, modern technology acts as a stimulus and not a cause of modern consumerism. Excess consumerism is a manifestation of an aspect of the history of Western Civilisation. A foundational myth of the West is that man was made in the image of God. This mythology continues in a secularised form and places man at the center of its worldview. This is compounded by the notion that nature exists to satisfy the pleasures of man. This results in a worldview which, in its secularised form, seeks to satisfy its desires through the external world. Unfortunately, such desires cannot be satisfied. Instead, they continue to increase. This naturally results in a consumer culture in which the masses uncontrollably seek pleasure externally, and this is the root cause of excess consumerism.

It could be argued that such consumerism exists in non-Christian societies, thus my argument is moot. However, such an argument fails to take note of the fact that Christendom (in one form or another) ruled over much of the world. Most of the consumerist world follows a post-Christian economic and educational model. Thus, it is inevitable for this same problem to exist there.

To conclude, I believe that it is incorrect to state that the pace of technological innovation is the cause of excess consumerism. Rather, it is a problem that stems from the history of Western civilization, and its founding myths. Technology provides a stimulus, not a cause. The cause exists within the individuals that make up the society. This cause is a worldview which is anthropocentric and seeks to quench its desires in the external world. Such desires can ultimately never be quenched. Technological innovation is one of the great results of the Enlightenment. It is some of the other aspects of the Enlightenment's roots that need to be viewed with suspicion instead.