Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own and explain your reasoning for your position. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address both views presented.

It has become commonplace for competition to be criticized with a view to developing a more equal society. One such sphere of society that is particularly vulnerable to this criticism is organized sports. Whilst many well-intentioned people argue that competition discourages less athletically talented people from participating in organized sports, I would disagree with such a statement. Furthermore, I believe that competition is an essential part of organized sports, which cannot be removed. As I will argue in this essay, those who argue that competition should be removed from organized sports are misguided and fail to differentiate between organized sports and recreational sporting activities (such as playing football in the park).

It is an essential component of sports that someone will lose and someone will win. If this is removed then sports are no longer sports but are instead simply recreational activities. This inevitably leads to the development of hierarchies. Such Hierarchies based on competency and ability emerge in every discipline, and sport is no exception. Both on an individual level, and a team level, it will quickly become apparent that there are more competent teams/ individuals and less competent teams/ individuals. Such hierarchies form part of the basic motivation for individuals to participate in sports, as less competent individuals will wish to rise up the hierarchy and those near the top will want to stay there. In attempting to remove competition from organized sports, advocates of this position attempt to remove these hierarchies. This is, in turn, an attempt to remove a basic motivation for less competent sports enthusiasts for participating in sports. Individuals who attempt to remove competition, further, fail to realize that the emergence of hierarchies based on ability is natural, and the disruption of such hierarchies will discourage both able athletes and less able athletes from participating in sports.

Furthermore, protagonists of the anti-competition position seem to be under the misguided idea that competition by nature is antagonistic and discourages less able individuals. This is a misconception. If competition exists within a spirit of cooperation and mutual respect, it is often more encouraging than discouraging. An example is the FIFA World Cup. There will be few commentators that would suggest this competition discourages smaller footballing nations from participating and trying their best. The recent display of Costa Rica is a case in point.

Despite this, there is a legitimate concern that if individuals feel that they cannot compete in sports then they will not exercise and their health will deteriorate. Whilst well-intentioned, such a concern fails to take note of the fact that outside of organized sports there are ample opportunities to exercise on a recreational basis. A wander around any city will show many groups of colleagues playing 5-a-side football after work, or heading to the gym, or going for a run.

Competition is an inherent part of organized sports and is a major motivating factor for all those who participate in it. There is little evidence to show that competition discourages people from participating in such sports. Furthermore, as I have shown, there is no causal link between competition and discouragement. Rather competition can be and should be used to encourage people to participate in sports. However, if there are individuals who feel discouraged from participating in organized sports, then society provides plenty of other outlets for them to exercise and participate in sporting activities on a recreational basis. It is not necessary that everyone should want to participate in everything.