Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own and explain your reasoning for your position. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address both views presented.

The statement claims that competition plays two roles on Two different athletes; one as a catalyst to draw out young athlete potential, and the other one as a deterrent for not athletically talented athletes. Both beliefs are not inaccurate, but the performance of each athlete depends on various influences such as the capability, personality, passion, and, including, the environment of the athlete.

The first statement indicates that a competitive environment is vital to be excel in athletics for young athletes. This statement is true for young athletes that also have the capabilities and passion for the sport and have the opportunity to compete with other talented competitors. This way, the athletes will tend to practice more to gain an inferior position in the competition, which is the cause of the improvement in performance. On the contrary, the young athletes that do not have the passion or the capability in the sport that they are competing, then, the inclination to practice will be less thus in lower performance causing the first statement to be false.

The second statement states that a competitive environment is discouraging the untalented athletes from participating in organized sports. This statement is correct under the circumstance that the athlete is both not athletically talented and uncompetitive which might be the result from the lack of interest in practicing or might be from losing to other competitors in previous competitions. However, not all untalented athletes will be discouraged by the fact that they are not talented. Many athletes that are successful do not claim that their success from talent alone but also from the practice they made in the past. Which means that the untalented athlete that is practice enough to gain the confidence will not be discouraged to participate in the competition.

In conclusion, the statements mentioned above are both correct and incorrect. Competition might or might not be one of the influences that drive athletes to practice to perform their best in a competition. On the other hand, it might or might not be seen as a formidable foe that many untalented athletes who might or might not want to compete in a competition.