To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The most important characteristics of society came from the culture that the majority of the people in society follow. The cultures are developed from beliefs and how people are governed in society. In each city, the beliefs and government are various due to many reasons such as the diversity in religion or race, weather, and geometry, or even, the historical events occurred in the city. So, the essential characteristics of a society that are derived from the culture will be different for each, which will lead to the reasons that major cities might not be the ideal place to learn. Here are some reasons why the major city might not be the best place to learn the essential characteristic of a society.

One of the reasons that the major city is not the best place to learn the essential characteristic is that the culture that the people follows will not be precisely the same according to various influences such as differences in the weather, geometry or religion. The obvious comparison would be the city in the rural area and the urban area. For example, the people in the major city, such as the capital city, tend to be more educated because there are a lot of universities an schools in the area. Together with the living expense higher than most cities, the people would be more liberal to a modern way of thinking because education will increase the possibility to have more attention to the Health, Politics, International affairs, and Technology which may alter the original characters that people have in the past or still have in some rural area. Therefore, most people in major cities tend to be more intellectual and modern where the people in the rural area will be more traditional and conservative — making it necessary to learn the characteristic of society from the specific city.

Another reason is that many major cities in many countries tend to have many tourist attraction locations, and the culture in the city can be effected in many ways. For example, a major city in Thailand, such as Pattaya is very well known for prostitutes in the eye of foreign tourists and considers to be a famous place where many illicit affairs happen. This images or the "characteristics" of people in Pattaya cannot be applied in other provinces in Thailand. Many foreigners went to Pattaya and took the women's characteristic in Pattaya as the norm for all Thai women and make inappropriate manners with Thai women in other cities. There are even news and posts in social media in Thailand that went viral with this topic as the content, which leads to the conclusion that the characters in the important city do not apply to every city.

Even so, the statement is not entirely false. In some country, the major cities might be the role model where other cities tried to follow and resulted in having similar significant characteristics. But if there are differences that are significant like the characters in Thai women in Pattaya where there are many prostitutes out in the open compared to, for example, Thai women in Bangkok where most Thai women are very conservative, and prostitution is not as common as in Pattaya then learning the significant characteristics in the major city and apply to other cities may not be relevant. Therefore, to learn the proper characteristic of any society is to learn directly from that society to avoid an accidental inappropriate situation.