To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Glancing back through the history of humanity, humans love to socialize and their socialization with each other create a relation that form a society. The statement claims that to study the core peculiarity of a society, it is best to study their major cities — where most of the socialization occur. I strongly agree to the statement and argue that one should research the characteristic from the major of its population with three reasons.

To begin, it is undoubtedly that big cities are the most populated city; where people coalesce from every aspect of the society. Thus, it is best to research the city with a that demonstrate every part of the society. For instance, if one wanted to study the culture of Thai people, one should study its people in Bangkok and Chiangmai. The population of major cities are a combination of people from the city and suburb all over the country. One could get the picture of north-eastern, southern, central and eastern culture from both Bangkok and Chiangmai. The above example illustrate that major cities are appeal to people from every aspect of the society to come and live together. Isn’t it best to research a large group of subject? — the population is to tell.

Further, every cultures is at its peak when they are augmented in the civilized cities. Major cities, mostly civilize, are supported by the growth of economy and knowledge which accelerate how cultures of the society are developed. For example, the culture of north-eastern Thai, which originate from the poorest part of the country, is well develop by the support of well-grown economy and knowledge to its people in major cities. Consequently, food, one of the important aspect of a society, from north-east is at its best by the abundant supply of high quality ingredients and a knowledgable chef. From the example, the aspect of society will demonstrate at it best when it is observe in a big city.

Lastly, to understand aspect of a society, one should understand it roots; museum and archive in the major cities are the most resourceful of the informations. To illustrate, Thai national archive keeping the record of day-to-day event since the Ayutthaya era. Thai people are not fluent in English or other than native tongue like neighbor country, because Thai was not conquered by any western country. Consequently, if one know the history of a society, one will understand the society better by knowing the origin and reason. From the above reason, study the society in a city that have archive and museum will provide a significant information of a society origination.

Of course, some argue that characteristics of a society in major cities are contaminated with each other and one cannot get to understand the true characteristics. However, isn’t that to understand the characteristics of a society is to understand the whole society as one entity? Combining all aspect of the society, its people, its growth, and its history, and view it blend together create another view of understanding that represent a society.