Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own and explain your reasoning for your position. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address both views presented.

The statement claims that competition plays two roles on athletes; one as a catalyst to draw out young athlete potential, and the other one as a deterrent for not athletically talented athletes. It is undoubtedly true that every athlete wants victory over other participants, but in some circumstances can put one improve to claim the victory or put one out of the road.

Competitiveness can drive the performance of the athlete to its best. This circumstance can only be valid when athletes goal is to win as best as one could in the competition, and that goal drives the athlete to improve oneself to the extent to compete with other participants who have the same goal, victory. In contrast, if the athlete goal is not to win the competition, and the athlete does not have the confidence to improve, the athlete will not improve potentially.

Another circumstance, competition can be daunting to an untalented athlete. This circumstance will be in effect when the athlete does not have any wills to win the competition and lack confidence in own ability. On the contrary, this circumstance will be invalid if the athlete does have confidence in his/her ability to improve, and does not have fear in losing as experience.

In conclusion, both situations are true and act like a flip-flop to one another; the athlete with confidence will improve and join the competition while the other will be intimidated and lose hearth.