Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

The author states fact about sport that when sport drives young athletes at their best but discourages others who are not athletically talented. Any sport fuels on passion, zeal and get the best out of from the given situations. The professional sports viewers also demand for such qualities. I don’t think anyone would pay for tickets and travel to big stadiums to watch amateur play mundane game frivolously.

Competitive nature brings best out of the athletes, as we see during Olympics and World championships of any sports. The challenging nature improves the quality of the player and eventually the overall sport. Cristiano Ronaldo won’t be one of the greatest goal scorer in soccer without winning against world class defenders. Usain Bolt’s gold medals won’t be that worth if there were lack of competitive nature in the sprint running. Something like this is a milestone of the human race, denoting the fastest running human of generation. To achieve greatness, such great athletes welcomes challenging nature and win over the hurdles.

Tennis has become even more interesting that three greatest players of the generation are fighting with utmost competitive nature. It is hard to predict if Nadal, Federer or Djokovic will win the next grand slam. This excitement increases the number of viewers for the sport and improves the quality of the game. Sport is essentially an entertainment category, which teaches and motivates each viewer how to deal with the everyday life problems to achieve most out of it. The passion, hard work and zeal to be better at doing things are the vital qualities required to be successful in solving real world problems.

While it is true that competitive nature of the sport brings best out of athletes, it is not for every person to sustain such high pressure. When someone wins, there is someone who is on the other side of the game. It is possible that people get discouraged, anxious and maybe depressed. But it is individual’s choice, if they want play for entertainment or professionally. Since when professional sport is concerned it is assumed to get competitive for entertainment purpose, otherwise there won’t enough viewer to fund the sport. However, if someone is playing for relaxation, entertainment and recreation then there are casual sport options which won’t hurt anyone’s feeling.

In conclusion, individual lacking in athletic talents can avoid discouragement due to loss from sport, and play at non-professional level to get the entertainment or recreational part. And the professional athletes could fuel on the competitive nature of the sport.