In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin.

This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument claims that the last minute advertisement on preserving the natural environment helped Keating win the election, and for Miller to win next election, he should increase the coverage of the same topic. The argument is based on mainly three severe assumptions, which fails to explain validity of the claim, they are as follows.

Firstly, the author assumes that the last minute advertisement showed changed people’s mind. However it is possible that the Keating supporters showed up late for the voting compared to Miller. Hence Miller was winning according to the counting. It is possible that they have different age group supporting and have different habits regarding voting timings. Author need to provide data on supporters voting habits to bolster the validity of this argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that the topic of the advertisement that made rest of the voter’s change their mind not due to sheer last minute presence on TV. It is possible that most of the people are ambivalent about their decision to vote Miller or Keating and the last minute presence on television influenced or biased their mind towards Keating than Miller. Many times, people have tendency to lean towards flashy and attractive things like advertisement on TV rather than the content and the importance of the topic. It is possible that the advertisement was well made or presented and the sheer presence of Keating influenced people about the leader qualities which were portrayed. Hence covering preservation of natural environment topic might not be weighed as much as asserted by the author.

Even if we assume that the preservation of the natural environment advertisement changed people’s mind at the last minute, it is possible that the topic won’t be hot favorite for the upcoming election. Maybe there is different issue that weighs more. It is possible that Keating might fix the issue during her time in the office and that issue will be mitigated significantly by the time of upcoming election. To increase the chances of Miller’s winning, he might have to highlight topics which are crucial at that time in the people’s mind rather than sticking to something that worked in the last election.

There are severe assumptions that weakens the arguments validity such as assumption that Millers supporters did not vote in the later half of the voting time, importance of advertisement topic and the same topic will be equally important in the upcoming elections.