Argument Topic #5 Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing via separate studies. First, U.S. statistics show that each year there are approximotely40,000deattA automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate,: pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road, Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The argument fails to explain numerous assumptions they are as follows.

Firstly, the argument claims that pilot driving on road is four times safer that the average driver. The argument lacks in explaining the details of the study. Where was the study performed? If the pilots tend to drive in safe regulated, well guided areas close to airport then it is possible that the amount of errors made by average driver would less compared to places where the traffic regulations are not implemented in optimized way. Or there is discrepancy in the crime rate of the locality on the road, then the claim asserted by the author is no longer valid. To bolster the strength of the argument the author need to provide the study that was performed on the same locality with same between same aged group people in the similar traffic conditions.

The conclusion of pilot being better driver on road is drawn from specific region that is US statistics. It may not be valid if we broaden the topic to world. Is the argument still valid in all the countries and regions of the world? Or is it just a coincidence that small data set is misleading the topic and the conclusion. To further improve the validity of the argument the author needs to provide data that is collected from larger data set and from different regions which includes diverse locality, traffic, crime rate on road, traffic guideline implemented areas, also rural and urban areas.

Essentially flying a plane and driving a car is fundamentally different in numerous ways. The vehicle, traffic rules, duration, and the skills required are blatantly different. And correlation between the two would not make sense unless the evidence presented that shows a significant resemblance. Is flight turbulence similar to bumps or pot holes felt on the road? Is flying planes improves the driving skills in certain way? We don’t know. Hence it is hard to make such an extreme assumption that flying plane improves the driving skills.

There are multiple erroneous and unexplained assumptions made by the author to jump into the conclusion that includes lack of details of the study, validity of the statistics in broader and diverse conditions, and evidence that flying planes improves the driving skills on the road. To improve the validity of the argument author should provide these details before making such extreme conclusions.