The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night nei devoted increased time to national ne' to weather and local news. During thi most of the complaints received from concerned with our station's coverage local news. In addition, local business advertise during our late-night news canceled their advertising contracts in order to attract more viewers to the avoid losing any further advertising n should restore the time devoted to we

"vs program has ws and less time s time period, viewers were of weather and es that used to program have just with us. Therefore, program and to evenues, we ather and local

He W h LU I LS I UI MCI level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument has numerous erroneous claims due to following reasons.

There is possibility of change in economy, which impacted the local businesses significantly compared to national companies. Hence the cancellation of advertisement from local businesses has been observed. Climatic disasters such as tycoon, flood or other adverse situation which severely impacted local businesses to significantly and not willing to spend enough money on advertisement on national news channels. Also it is possible that local companies realised that advertisement on news channels is not helping their business grow. Maybe other ways like sponsoring local events, fairs or billboards are more effective in attracting the customers rather than national news. Also people might have changed their way of getting local or weather news. Most of the smartphones have apps for weather and news.

The argument falsefully assumes that the local businesses canceled advertising due to decrease in local and weather news. It is possible that the local business companies canceled the advertising due to the quality of the national news content. It is possible that there were advertising contracts calcellation happened overall. National companies might have canceled the advertisement contracts as well. To support the claim in the argument, we need to understand the advertisement contract increment or decrement for national companies as well.

The argument fails to explain the how timing of the show impacts the advertisement revenue from different location and age group of the viewer. It is possible that the news aired in late night might have reduced the number of people watching the news during that time. Maybe the change of season from Summer to Winter have changed people's sleeping habits. The late night news might be popular during Summer when days are long, but during winter people might prefer going to sleep early. That might impact the advertisement revenue.

The argument fails to assume other factors such as news show time, economy changes, people's habits, rise of internet and personal cell phones.