Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Sometimes people could not understand the passion and vision and stick to past for judging the future. But visionary people see through their ideas and become an iconoclast.

A popular example of this is, Elon Musk. Few years back when electric cars were assumed to be a second car used for covering mere small distances at low speed, Elon Musk started Tesla, an electric car company that left everyone surprised. People severely criticised his idea of making electric car as their primary car and his dream of changing the entire world car transport, only with elctric cars. His company not only made a reliable Electric car, but also made fastest car that achieves 0-60 mph speed. Elon Musk also started Spacex which is a primary compatitor to NASA. He faced similar criticism that rocket science is most complex and going against organizations like NASA is stupid thing to do. But now NASA has assigned SPACEX rockets for thier future projects.

Novel ideas can frighten people and that can lead to criticism. In early 1900 centuries, when British vehemently ruling their Indian colony, people were angry and started violent protest against British government in India. However, Mahatma Gandhi was a person who chose peaceful protest instead of violence. Most of the Indian leader criticised and mocked Gandhi's way. But when entire world saw Gandhi protesting with peace even when British government brutally opposing indian peaceful rallies, world leaders from many countries condemned British government. Eventually, Gandhi's efforts made huge contribution for Indian independance. This shows

It is human tendency to oppose something new. Manier times people want to follow the trend or traditional way, rather than a new way. Because most of the people can judge a new idea if their life experience doesn't any reference to the idea. This is how the human brain works, resistence to the change. Hence when Albert Einstein showed that the matter and energy from entire uniververse can be explained with just mathematical formula many people or even scientist opposed the concept. Later, it become the innovation of the century.

Hence with a strong visionary who does not care about other's opinions go and achieve their dreams, irrespective of the criticism they receive. Going against the norm and achiving someone never achieved are the commonities of the legends.