All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The argument is, whether the outside consultant is unnecessary for the company to operate efficiently. I think it's always good to have fresh eyes to look the traditional problems.

When companies assign outside consultants to operate the company efficiently, they get chance look at the problem in the bigger picture scale or to overview the problems. Insteasd of narrowly focussing on the small details which might have deflected the objective and made the solutions counterproductive. It is possible that outside person might have past experience of solving the company's current problems. Also outside consultant might suggests ideas which were not thought from the internal teams of the company before.

When Steve Jobs was hired Pixar to operate the company more efficiently. He saw problems which previous leaders failed to identify. Such as the creative teams where not talking to each other that ofter. There was a communication gap or lack of collaboration between the teams which was impacting progress and quality of the animation company. Hence he made office building's structural changes - moving the restrooms and recreational area to the center of the buidling. That made emplaoyees to gather together and talk to each other. This simple solution helped develop the communication between the teams and proliferated the progress.

In addition to that, when certain problems are not solved over long period of time, they becomes mundane and people tend to show lack of interest in solving. Maybe not to get into the trouble or the fear of becoming part of unsuccessful work. The internal employees might have deep rooted into the company tradition or the work culture that might not be allowing them to think beyond the utilized ideas and improve the efficiency. Hence fresh eyes on improving the traditional way might be helpful. Sometimes the industry changes due to new innovation and if the company does not abreast with the improved way of operations, that company might have chance of losing their revenues. This trend is very common in tech companies where new disruptive innovation changes the industry completely. Hence in such cases it is important to have outside consultant which would put the efforts to make the company keep up with the advancements.

Although, outside consultant is not always helpful to operate the company. There are inherent advantages of selecting someone from the internal team to operate the company. Such as he/she would know the problems in depth, aware of the resources available and the pragmatic solutions in the given conditions, which outside consultant might not be able to provide. Big tech companies like Apple, Microsoft and Google encourages their current employees to take the leading or company operating postions because of such advantages.

There are numerous important factors that adds the value for hiring outside consultants to operate the company efficiently. Such as new eyes to traditional problems, to keep up with the current advancements in the industry.