Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Considering all the factors, I disagree on the view.

In the world where people with diversity, cultural and political differences exist, it is possible to have different opinions on controversial topics. Lack of communication and discussion significantly increases the hostility between the different groups, having contrasting views.

The discussion between people with the contrasting views broadens the area of discussion. One might not have to agree on the contrasting points explained through this conversation, but it gives a chance to explore the other side of the discussion.

It allows the people to understand different perspectives of the topic and might give opportunity to modify their views. It is possible that one might change their views completely after listening to the other side of the discussion.

Of course there are topics which are best to avoid if they are going to cause in-harmony or going to impact the peace of the society. Such topics might include religion, tradition, cultural issues. Since every person has different up bringing, cultural and traditional beliefs, sometimes commenting on such topics might be hurtful. This can be avoided by keeping the silence.

In a successful democracy, it is allowed to have contrasting views but it is important to listen and understand the other side of the story.

Although in a world where each person has their own way of perceiving any topic would have different or contrasting views with other people, it is important to have a discussion with an open-mind.