The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The argument strongly supports that the increase in sidewalk rage crimes are due to increased use of cell phones. The argument fails to convince numerous assumptions.

The argument assumes that the size of the sidewalk is big enough for people walking. It is possible that the population of the town has increased over past 3 years making the sidewalks even more crowded. The argument fails to justify the correct size of the sidewalk that would allow people walking on the sidewalk without bumbping into each other. It is possible that tourist attractions in the town have become more famous in last three years. Maybe, increase in tourist who are unaware of the sidewalk or traffic rules are the reason of sidewalk rage. The argument fails to consider many other reason that might be cause of the side walk rage crimes.

The argument fails to show the specific data or proof that supports the Middletown reduced the sidewalk rage crimes due to the ban of cell phones on side walk. It does not provide the location crime rate. It leaves with many unanswered questions like, did the crime rate of the location was same, the average age of the location, population of the location. Also the argument assumes which happened in past three years will continue in future as well. It is possible that some popular event happend in the town which made the sidewalks crowded, leading people bumping into each other. Year end sales, thanksgiving offers or new iPhone launch might lead to concentration of huge crowd at the same location. That would lead to sidewalk rage. But the argument baselessly focuses on cell phone use instead of considering other factors. Hence it is possible that the provided conculsion of reduction in sidewalk rage related crimes will not be true.

The argument fails to explain the use of cell phone make people bump into children because of their short height. In fact, when phone users usually looking down at their screen not looking up. Hence, it is highly unlikely that because of the cell phone use people bump into children.

The argument fails to consider many significantly important reasons such as side walk size, the location and population change. Hence does not justify the conclusion.