In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin. This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that in the last year mayoral election candidate miller was defeated by keating although he pioneered in the polls leading up to the election. Since keating launched a series of tv advertisement that concentrated on preserving the natural environment of town T, miller should focus more on this topic to win the election. while the argument seems completely reasonable at first glance, further considerations and pursuing situations reveal some apparent flaws.

The author fails to indicate the name of the polls holders and the extent to which they are valid. When he claims that miller led keating by a substantial margin, he should glean more pieces of evidence about this notion. If these polls are manipulated are lacks in data gathering and surveying principles, the results should not be highlighted, and any further conclusion based on them is incorrect.

Also, the author assumes that tv advertisements play a crucial role in the fate of the election. there are no more data and information about the role of each action in the popularity of the candidates. The marketing team should present more before/after data about every campaign and advertisement to investigate and assess their effectiveness. while there is no clear evidence about this issue, the author’s claim flaws and not plausible.

Moreover, he states that the last-minute decision to launch widely viewed advertisements about the natural environment of town T led changes the results of the poll and led to keating victory. he does not provide precise data to declare that the ads was the only factor for the remarkable rise in keating votes. there might be other campaigns that have been planned to result in the last days remained to the election time such as broadcasting news, public presentations, several gatherings, etc., and they just coincided with the ads launching. The issue that the increase in the votes was only up to the ads should be better defended and more evidence provided.