Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own and explain your reasoning for your position. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address both views presented.

The author claims that there are two beliefs about the relation between competition and athlete urge; competition will drive athletes to their best and will daunt athletes away. It is undoubtedly true that competing in a tournament is causing stress to both mind and body, so athletes may use the pressure as positive energy to keep them from falling behind or may use it as a negative deterrent.

The first belief tends to play on competition as positive energy for athletes to make them put more determination to win. The challenge of winning stronger opponent and the position at the top of the game will always ignite the spirit of an athlete to gain as much advantage as one could for the match ahead to win. However, not all player have the same competitive trait in them, so joining race may not have sufficient power to push these players to their limits and improve themselves.

Differently, the second belief claims that competition daunts an untalented athlete. Winning factors in every sports game are confidence, skill, and patience. If a player loses skill factor, the most important factor, other factors will be corrupted. Missing all the winning factors, a player will feel a significant discouragement and not putting any efforts to gain skills to compete with others. Contrarily, a player who lose winning factors still got a strong will to win; a player will act according to the first belief with a belief to put a player to the limit.

Comparatively, both beliefs are valid in a specific condition; a player who has a competitive trait, and a player who is a deadbeat. These two beliefs tend to be a side of a coin, and only one side at a time can be shown. A player without skill who have a sturdy competitive trait will perform at best, ignoring the result, but if a player does not have that trait, the competition will deter this player.

In summary, both beliefs are aligned with my reasoning; these beliefs are acting like a flip-flop to each other, and the only one can be valid with the same condition. The condition of my thinking is that a player can only be competitive or not competitive.