The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

From the recommendation from the board of directors of Monarch Books, it is state that Monarch should open a cafe in a store to attract more customers and gain better advantage over Regal Books. In other words, Monarch has come up with an idea to attract more customers and clear up children’s book section — less popular section. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, is cafe really attract more customer to visit the store? In other words, no customer survey is reference in the argument about the feedback of customers on in-store cafe. It is possible that the reason of customer visiting the store is not related to the in-store cafe at all. Thus, adding new cafe may not attract more customer as the company want. If this scenarios merit, then the conclusion drawn in the recommendation is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does Regal Books gain more customer after adding cafe to the store? Studying competitor is crucial things that a company should do. Recently opened Regal book cafe may not attract more customer as they want. Copying the method of its competitor seem to be unwarranted decision for board of director to make if the regarding scenario is true.

Lastly, does removing children’s book section affect Monarch Books’ reputation about wide selection of books on all subjects? The removal of children’s book section may affect the well-known reputation of Monarch Book of having various selection of books. Though, the lowering of children’s book popularity is temping for owners to cut the cost, but this action may affect its integrity of their ethic.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several un warranted assumptions, and lack of systematic research or survey. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to open cafe in store and remove children’s book section.