The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Building new dormitories for the students is a good initiative fo the students enrolling in Buckingham college. But the evidence needed to justify allocating a significant amount of money for the construction of the dormitories is not completely justifiable.

Firstly, the claim that Buckingham's enrollement will double over the next 50 years based on current trends is too vague a prediction. The next 50 years can expect various changes to the society such as new, more efficient colleges or the resignation of the best faculty currently teaching at Buckhingham. Predicting such a positive outcome based on current trends is not reliable and does not guarentee that the new dormitories will be filled by students. It is also possible that the next 10 years can see a decrease in student enrollment due to new colleges being built in the country.

Secondly, although it is true that an increase in rent in the town can make it difficult for the students to find a suitable house, no information regarding the dormitory fee for the students and whether it is comparable to the rent for the apartments is given. It is also true that an investment in building new dormitories can increase the fee for staying in such facilties. Students can then opt to take apartments out of town for a lesser rent and use faster modes of commute to reach the college.

More information regarding the facilties present in the dormitories and the apartments needs to be considered. If the apartments have better security or recreational facilties then students would opt to take apartments for a slightly higher price. Expecting rent rates to increase in the following years based on current trends is also unwarranted. Real estate rates are known to fluctuate and moreover the college has no control over the rates of rents in the apartments in their town. The capacity of the dormitory rooms are also not provided. The college can opt to build rooms that can be shared by more than two people to accomodate more people should there be an increase in enrollment in the next couple of years.

Thirdly, claiming that the enrollement in Buckingham college is solely based on attractive dormitories is not a valid argument. Students enroll or decide on their colleges based on faculty, placement statistics, extra curricular activities, whether the college boasts of state-of-the-art technology among other reasons. Prospective students would definitely consider new, clean dormitories as a plus point while enrolling but that as a criteria for their future is definitely not a valid point.

New dormitories are definitely needed if Buckingham college expects more students in the future but more valid information needs to be collected before making such decisions that invlolve a lot of money. Few dormitories can be constructed if the college expects to have a higher rate of enrollment in the coming years. It would be wise for the college to consider the rate of increase in enrollment and the rent rates for the next couple of years before deciding to build.