The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The idea of provision of extra dormitories by Buckingham college might prove to be advantageous to students in certain ways but not always. The argument made by the director of student housing at Buckingham College though somewhat persuasive, cannot be taken to be of absolute certainty because it is based on several flaws and unsubstantiated assumptions which render its line of reasoning weak and unconvincing.

To begin, the assumption made by the director that the rate at which students are enrolling in the Buckingham college would remain constant even after 50 years could be considered debatable. What if this rate becomes low in the upcoming years? In such a scenario, the newly built dormitories could remain vacant and the college may have to suffer huge financial losses. There is also a possibility of the number of dormitories experiencing an overflow due to excessive number of students in the college in the future. Lack of data that could be used to predict the exact number for dorm rooms has not been provided which renders making a qualitative decision prone to a lot of errors.

Moreover, while mentioning the possibility of increase in the house loans and rents in the city in the upcoming years, the director fails to consider the possibility of increase in opulence of people living in the city. People may have enough wealth to support their children and provide them with a suitable house without undergoing any serious monetary losses. Also, what if the average rent of the apartments in the city falls as the years pass by. No evidence has been provided to support the argument that rent will always increase in the upcoming years. In order to ameliorate this problem, data could be made available to make an accurate prediction of the future rents of apartments in the city.

Furthermore, the assumption that augmentation of new aesthetic dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enrol at Buckingham College could be considered as an extremely shallow presumption. What if Buckingham college does not have enough resources to provide actual, valuable education to its students? This could discourage students from enrolling at Buckingham and force them to look for other alternatives. The primary features that a student looks for in a college may be quality of education, faculty employed in the college, overall ranking of the college in the city etcetera. Therefore, merely new dormitories might not be enough to make students to enrol at Buckingham.

Therefore, it can be concluded that establishing new dormitories without consideration of some of these important factors could lead to negative results for the college as their reasoning rests on unstable grounds. Eradication of these equivocal scenarios could be achieved to a great extent by providing more quantitative information in certain aspects like house rents, number of current enrolments, rate of increase in student enrolments etcetera.