As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is not just a useful device anymore that helps us in performing specific tasks, rather it has become an integral part of our day to day life. Use of technology can be experienced from using a vehicle to go somewhere to computing high level calculations on a small computer. But the claim of the given statement that reliance on technology to solve problems would deteriorate human ability to think is certainly up for debate and consists of weaknesses that cannot be overlooked.

To begin, technology has the potential to solve existing and exigent problems faster than human beings which allows them to focus on the new complex problems emerging in today's modern world. Humans still have to find solutions to several convoluted problems themselves, but the only difference now is that they do not have to worry about trivial tasks that take up too much of the limited time given to them. Using supercomputers, for example, provides the scientists with the ability to think of new ideas themselves and then ultimately test them using these powerful machines. New ideas like nanotechnology, 3-D printing technology etcetera have emerged as a result of the flexibility provided to the human mind while working on a problem. Technology serves the role of an assistant while the actual development of ideas is still made by humans.

Furthermore, the late Steve Jobs once said," A human being who is one of the most inefficient animals on the planet becomes the most efficient one when he/she is provided with a computer". Technology fosters new ideas and innovations that were initially considered unachievable due to absence of high power computers, eco friendly cars etcetera. Making new technology also requires thinking on the part of human beings. For example, electric cars are comping up in world that have created their own set of problems that need to be overcome in making this industry successful. Also, computers are still considered to be dumb machines with zero I.Q and a human touch is required to program them to work in certain ways. This requires complex thinking which encourages humans to come up with creative ways of building new things.

Moreover, thinking ability of humans is enhanced rather than decreased by use of technology. In the medical field for example, solutions to diseases that were originally thought to be untreatable like cancer, HIV AIDS, H1N1 etcetera have been found by researchers and doctors whose work loads are reduced by the development of machines such as Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Electro Cardio Gram and many more. There are still several problems that technology cannot yet solve but efforts are being made by the the most brilliant minds to make devices to solve them.

Therefore , it can be concluded that reliance on technology has provided us with new problems to focus on and leave the burden of performing trivial repetitive actions to the machines. Machines and new upcoming technology will never deteriorate the ability of humans to think for themselves, rather it will develop their mind and make them think of revolutionary ideas so as to make a positive impact on the world.