The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Recommendation provided by the board of directors of Monarch Books might prove to be fruitful for the book store in certain number of cases but the results predicted by the board cannot be considered absolutely unambiguous. Reason being, the claim made by them consists of several flaws and unsubstantiated assumptions which renders their line of reasoning weak and unconvincing.

To begin, the assumption that the Monarch books already has a rugged customer base because of the eclectic nature of the books present there cannot be considered a cogent reason. As it has been located at the same place for 20 years, there might be a possibility that the people living in the neighbourhood have developed a liking for other genres of books that the Monarch bookstore does not have. Also, the author's judgement might be quaint as he/she may be adjudicating the popularity of the Monarch bookstore from 5 or 10 years ago. Information regarding its popularity in the present times has not been specified which makes the board's suggestion of opening up a cafe to be considered for another round of questioning.

Furthermore, making space for a cafe by discontinuation of the children's section might not be good for the stores' sales as the data regarding decline in the number of 10 year olds is not given. What if, even after a drastic decline of the number of children in the country, sufficient number of them remain for visiting the Monarch bookstore. Absence of actual numbers makes it an onerous task to unequivocally conclude that sales for the children's section will experience a downfall. Lack of complete census data therefore presents a problem. In addition, what if the children's section contains books not just for kids upto 10 years of age, but upto 15 years? Answer to this question could provide some room for reconsideration of the suggestion made by the board.

Moreover, comparison of Monarch bookstore with Reagel Bookstore has no basis. What if the Monarch bookstore is already more popular that Reagel bookstore? What if it does not need to compete with it? Even the results of opening up a cafe at the Reagel Bookstore have not been specified. The possibility of underperformance of the Reagel bookstore even after opening up a cafe cannot be ignored. Also sales comparison cannot be made between the 2 stores as numerical information has not been taken into account. So, the primary reason for the unpersuasive nature of the board's reasons is lack of data.

Therefore, it could be concluded that a strong, one sided claim cannot be made based on the information given in the board's statement due to a high level of uncertainty of the contentions made in the argument. Amelioration of this ambiguity can be achieved if the board uses a quantitative approach to provide a recommendation rather than a qualitative one.