The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the data provided and the reasoning made by the author in the given claim seems valid but when examined meticulously, it reveals several flaws and unsubstantiated assumptions. Details associating mopeds with accidents in the Balmer Island do not provide concrete evidence which renders the author's line of reasoning weak and quite cogent.

To begin, use of mopeds has been stated to be popular among people at the Balmer Island but not explicitly mentioned as the mode of transportation that is used by majority of its citizens. This calls into question, the assumption that accidents are caused only by mopeds on the island. What if cars or buses account for the majority of accidents occurring on the island? This would render the policy of reducing rented mopeds irrelevant. Data giving information regarding the actual cause of the accidents could be analysed to make a relatively astute judgement and assist the island council to come up with a more pragmatic set of rules.

Furthermore, the increase in the number of people on the island during summer months by over a 100,000 does not provide any support for the town council's decision. Reducing the number of mopeds rented form 50 per day to 25 per day may have a negligible effect considering the myriad of people that come to the island even if reducing mopeds decreases accidents. The actual number out of those 100,000 people who use mopeds have also not been specified; quantification of this factor might provide an insight into whether people are actually are prone to moped accidents or not. This could allow the town council to reconsider their decision.

Moreover , the author makes a naive comparison of the the town of Seaville and Balmer Island as their populations, transportation details and areas have been presumed to be similar. Seaville town may consist of a large population living on a small area of land due to which accidents caused by mopeds may relatively be more than that on Balmer Island. In such a scenario restricting the quantity of mopeds rented may turn out to be fruitful but only if Balmer Island also has the same conditions. Further, 50 percent decrease in moped accidents can only be associated with Seaville and not with Balmer Island as the number of accidents in both the town have not been studied. Provision of data may lead to conclusions that may support or undermine the town council’s current decision.

Hence, it could be concluded that the assumptions made by the author are extremely delicate in nature due to not enough evidence to support them. Many other questions could also be raised which can undermine the author's reasoning. In order to achieve stability in his/her claim, it is imperative that the author provide more details to back his arguments.