To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim that in order to study the most significant characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities is too generalised to be agreed with. The generic nature of this lies in the fact that it does not consider the noteworthy impact that cities other than the major ones have on the society. This renders its line of reasoning weak and unconvincing.

First of all, most of the major cities in any country are cosmopolitan by nature. They consist of people from various backgrounds and cultures. Despite the fact that they explain a lot about the socio-political, economic and technological conditions of the society, they do not mention much about the cultural heritage which is also integral to the society as a whole. This feature can only be seen in the bucolic parts of a country rather than the major cities. In a country like India, for example, the cultural differences between an urban and well developed city like Mumbai or New Delhi and the pastoral cities of Rajasthan can be of assistance in understanding the society; Living standards of people in Mumbai are higher than those of people in cities of Rajasthan. Development of the industrial sector in Mumbai has skyrocketed in the past decade whereas country-side areas still depend primarily on government aid. Studying minor cities proves to be significantly conducive to understanding the features of society as a whole.

Second of all, the rural areas are agricultural in nature and are the backbone for all major cities in the world. Without the support form minor cities of a country, the major cities would cease to flourish. In todays' modern world, major cities do not pay attention to the historical aspects of a society that are required to understand its foundational characteristics. But a large part of history can be studied in rural cities of a country. For example, the heart of all history of India lies in the villages of Rajasthan and Gujarat. Societal incongruity caused by disputes between urban and rural areas also help in understanding the direction in which a society is headed. The most common reasons for such conflicts arise from cultural differences that define a society's character.

Therefore, while analysing the major cities is of vital importance, one absolutely needs to study the minor cities in order to have a complete understanding of the society. More transparency can been observed in the working of a society can be observed while studying the minor cities. Knowledge of rural cities is crucial for studying the heritage and cultural aspects of the society.