We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No, I do not believe that we learn more from people that share our opinion than those who who contradict them. It all comes down to how a person tackles disagreement in various situations.

Instead of feeling stressed about the opposing views, one can consider something from a new perspective.

Humans feel more comfortable in situations where people conform to their ideas, and not where people oppose them. This hinders their growth in various domains of life. The main problem with learning by opposition from people is related with one’s ego and arrogance. A famous person by the name of Albert Einstein once said, “Ego is inversely proportional to knowledge”, more the knowledge, lesser the ego. Not being open minded about others’ view keeps one trapped in a nutshell full of doubts and self-pride. This leads to one becoming reluctant to anything that does not conform to his or her views. I, myself was once faced with a similar situation which kept me from learning new things when I made the transition from high school to college. But I realised it soon enough and this fostered by development as a team player where not all people agreed with me.

As far as the reason for the given claim, that disagreement causes stress and inhibits learning is dependent solely on the person whose views are contradicted. Some of the great scientists in the world like Albert Einstein, Stephen Hawking, Richard Feynman etcetera gained their intelligence and knowledge because of discrepancies between them and their colleagues. This nonconformity forced them to step out of their comfort zone and develop a new perspective about numerous theories in science. Even the Chief Executive officers of tech giants like SpaceX, Apple, Tesla Motors etcetera have had to consider and uncritically accept ideas of other officers in their company even if they do not agree with them. Sometimes, positive results based on others’ ideas help you find your flaws and ameliorate them. It even makes one an astute judge of others’ opinions and helps one filter the unnecessary ones.

To sum, just the acceptance of views in harmony with yours’ brings more harm than good. True learning is achieved only when people are open to healthy criticism and suggestions. The real experience and knowledge one achieves is while being contradicted by others and therefore, it is one’s duty to not remain trapped in a bubble of one’s fabricated reality where they are never wrong.