Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Replacement of the leader of any group or organisation depends mainly on how well a leader operates it. Possibilities may arise where the leaders are perfect in their roles or not at all fit to lead. But in todays rapidly changing scenario of the society, it has become imperative to change the leadership so as to promote growth in any field, whether it is business, education, politics or government.

First of all, a sense of responsibility and accountability is induced in people at the highest positions in an organisation by forcing a time constraint on them. Sometimes, the awareness of the fact that they may be relieved of their power if they underperform also keeps them from being negligent about their respective roles. Exercising their opinions may be allowed only for a certain time as eventually, they have to pay heed to others' perspectives for the betterment of the company. This precludes them from using their rights fecklessly. Genuine growth in any field whether it is business, politics or education, is possible only through implementation of the collective vision of its employees and not that of a single person.

Second of all, it is imperative that new and more talented people be given the opportunity to contribute towards development of society through their distinctive and multifaceted leadership styles. In today's world, where advancements in technology have being increasing at a fast pace, a need has arisen for new leaders to step up and provide suitable direction for organisations, institutions and governments to move to. Younger people are being employed in the government bodies as they are trained to provide solutions to the socio economic and socio political conditions emerging throughout the world. Students majoring in fields such as Business administration, Technology and science are applying for leadership roles to express their capabilities. These student can use their knowledge of the current scenarios to provide elegant solutions to complex problems that the old leaders are not trained to face.

Third of all, it cannot be denied that the experience based knowledge acquired by old leaders is priceless, but the need for creativity and long term sustenance of an organisation calls for a motley of ideas that are unconventional and original in every sense of the word. For example, the company Apple, had to change its CEOs several times in the early 2000s because they were not able to adapt to changes being made in the economic conditions. Due to this, the company suffered a large amount of loss before Steve Jobs stepped up as CEO and stabilised the company and provided it the correct vision. Innovation can only result if leaders adapt to fluctuating circumstances.

Therefore, going on with same set of leaders does not always prove to be fruitful in several fields of study. To compensate for this, regular replacement of people in power is required to maintain in the balance and also prevent misuse of power. This is applicable for industries in all areas, from science to commerce, everything needs to be governed by variety of views rather than following just one.