The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth i

There is no doubt that the WWAC should change its style and program formats to cater the taste of potential listeners. Nonetheless, the owners' decision to switch the WWAC to news and talk format is groundless, and are not likely to reverse the decline in listener numbers.

To begin with, the owners used the sales of recorded music as an evidence for people's attitudes towards music, but they fails to elaborate the link between the former and the latter. That is to say, the sales of recorded music do not reliably reflect people's tastes of music. Imaginably, it is not impossible that most recorded music available is also in rock format, where as the senior citizens favor classical music, and they would choose free radio programs if classical music is broadcasted. Therefore, it might be misleading to use the sales of recorded music as an indicator of people's preferences. Were the owners of WWAC radio station to use sales of recorded misic to evaluate people's interests in music, they would have to show that the two are realiably correlated. To do so, many factors affecting the sales of recorded music should be taken into consideration, including prices, genres, and so on.

What is more, even the selling of recorded music can reliably present people's tastes for music, reasons attributed to its decrease are not clear. For example, people might show less enthusiasm to recorded music simply because its price is less affordable for the general consumers compared to before, or because online music is more convenient and up-to-date, attracting many consumers to new media. Thus, it is inadvisable to conclude that new residents are not interested in music.

Secondly, the owners of the radio station dicieded to change the programs to news and talk format. It might be a good trial, but also a risky one. The current decline in listener numbers for rock-music format does prove that most of them are not interested in rock music, but this does not necessarily mean that they would be attracted by news and talk format. To draw this conclusion with confidence, the radio station should gather concrete evidence from the local residents. For instance, they could carry out a questionnaire, asking for people's prefrences for radio programs.

In conclusion, changing program format to attract more listeners is definitely imminent for WWAC radio station, but sufficient evidence should be presented before the owners of the radion station make any decision to reform.