The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There is no doubt that the WWAC should change its style and program formats to cater the taste of potential listeners. Nonetheless, the owners' decision to switch the WWAC to news and talk format is groundless, and are not likely to reverse the decline in listener numbers.

To begin with, the owners concluded that the older residents moving to the listening area are not insterested in music, citing that local sales of recorded music has witnessed a decline. However, reasons attributed to this decrease are not clear. For example, people might show less enthusiasm to recorded music simply because its price is less affordable for the general consumers compared to before, or because online music is more convenient and up-to-date, attracting many consumers to new media. Thus, it is inadvisable to conclude that new residents are not interested in music.

What is more, the author did not elaborate the link between the sales of recorded music and people's interests in music. That is to say, the sales of recorded music do not reliably reflect people's tastes toward music. Imaginably, it is not impossible that the retired residents in the area are not willing to pay for recorded music, contributing to its unpopularity. Nontheless, the senior citizens favor classic music, and they would choose to listen to the radio, because it is free. Therefore, it is misleading to use the sales of recorded music as an indicator of people's preferences. Conversly, the radio station may gain huge popularity if they broadcast classic music. Were the owners of WWAC to use sales recorded misic to evaluate people's interests in music, they would have to show that the two are realiably correlated.

Lat but not least, the owners of the radio station dicieded to change the programs to news and talk format. It might be a good trial, but also a risky one. The current decline in listener numbers for rock-music format does prove that most of them are not interested in rock music, but this does not necessarily mean that they would be attracted by news and talk format. To draw this conclusion with confidence, the radio station should gather concrete evidence from the local residents. For instance, they could carry out a questionnaire, asking for people's prefrences for radio programs.

In conclusion, changing program format to attract more listeners is definitely imminent for WWAC radio station, but sufficient evidence should be presented before the owners of the radion station make any decision to reform.