The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author is trying say that most of the people cannot distinguish between butter and margarine. The author does point out that the store is trying to get profit out of the change from butter to margarine, however, he/she did not bring several assumptions that need to be addressed.

First of all it has been stated that only 2 percent of the customers complained that butter was not offered, and the remaining 98 percent were happy with it. We cannot assume that all of the people are happy. Perhaps some of them were not that observent in the changes that had occurred. Some of them might have known about the change and just decided to move on whether they liked it or not. Also they might have thought that margarine was just as similar to butter and didn't think of checking the nutritional values in it. Maybe more than 2 percent of the population revolted but the many may have dropped out thinking there was no use in complaining.

Futhermore it was stated by the author that the Happy Pancake House should make cost-saving changes to their stores and to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast. The people of southwest United States were not able to distinguish the difference, but if the other parts of the United States do catch the difference in their service, then there may not be a profit for their store and in turn may also get criticized.

It can be seen that what the author has assumed here are some good ideas, however we don’t have enough evidence and information to conclude that this is the best way for them to make their store more popular.