The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that as manned space flight is costly and dangerous, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.This is a conclusion made without much evidence and the argument fails to provide any facts to back the conclusion.If the argument had provided substantial evidence backing up that why manned space flight is costly and dangerous and about how much information can be gathered with the use of space probes and satellites then the argument would be much more valid.

First of all the argument readily assumes that manned space flight is costly and dangerous but fails to concrete the conclusion.To further illustrate this if the argument had provided reasons as to why manned space flight is costly and dangerous, and facts to back the reasons then the conclusion would be more valid.If the argument had stated that due to increased weight of the crew and the life support systems in the spacecraft it is costlier and even though they are trained rigorously even a small calculation error can have fatal consequences.By stating the above mentioned facts explicitly the argument could be made more persuasive.

Additionally the argument also states that recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space but fails to make a convincing case.Although the argument states that 'great deal of useful information can be gathered without men' it fails to add that with manned space flight we can gather a whole lot of information about each and every thing in space as men are trained to look for everything and no matter how many space probes we could possibly have it could never beat a man's thought process and the way he perceives things.

Furthermore the argument fails to mention how cheaper it is to send unmanned space probes than manned space flight.If the argument clearly cited that with space probes the cost reduction is significant then the argument would be much more convincing.Hence to make the argument more convincing the author needs to mention all the related facts such as costs with manned space flight and why it is dangerous and the cost reduction related to unmanned space flight and how much better it is send a spacecraft without man on it.

On the whole though the argument claims that the resources sould be invested in unmanned space flight ,it fails to make a convincing case.We need the knowledge of all contributing factors before we come to a conclusion and clearly the argument fails to mention them and explain them convincingly.Hence in its current form because of the various assumptions ,the conclusion has no legs to stand on.