The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction

The argument claims that if swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for the students in the Kensington Academy.The argument is based on many false assumptions on the basis of which it could not be evaluated.Had the argument provided more substantial evidence strengthening the underlying assumptions,the conclusion would be more valid.

First of all,the author readily assumes that if his son and several of his friends do not find the lunch enjoyable, the swift nutrition should be replaced.This is a mere assumption made without solid ground.To illustrate this there could be 2000 students in the kensington academy who would be enjoying the low-fat and low-calorie food and his son and several friends could accomodate only for a mere 20 students.Therefore the argument is based on faulty reasoning that the author's son and his friends represent the entire academy and as they do not find the low-calorie low-fat food enjoyable,then the vendor should be replaced.

Furthermore the argument cites that the Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria last year to the Swift Nutrition and the author's son and his friends complained about the lunch options yesterday.The argument fails to provide justification to this assumption,if the food is not enjoyable then why didn't the students complain to their parents when Kensington academy first turned its management over to the Swift Nutrition.If the argument had provided information to justify this assumption then it could be considerably strengthened.

Additionally,the argument assumes that other vendor's cafeteria food is healthier than the food that would be brought by the students.This is just an assumption and the author fails to provide evidence to strengthen this assumption.For instance the new vendor couls start giving foods with high calories and fats that are unhealthy and the students could possibly be restricted by their parents in consuming such food.Hence this is just an assumption without proper justification.

On the whole if the argument had provided substantial evidence to counter the flaws,the argument would be much more valid.We need knowledge of all contributing factors of the argument beofre coming to a conclusion.Hence with the flaws in the argument and its improper justification the argument's conclusion has no legas to stand on.