The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In preceeding argument, the author states that Super Screen Movie Production Company should invest more in advitising to win movie viewers, citing a higher percentage of positive reviews from current viewers. While the argument may seem plausible at first glance, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of questions yet to be answered, which is crucial for the valuation of the recommendation.

To begin with, report shows that people attending movies produced by Super Screen reached a historic low. But the author does not rule out the impact of other reasons in the market. The number of movie reviewers are influenced by multifarious factors, movie quality and advertising being only part of them. For instance, it is possible that the company produce less movies in the past year, so the number of movie viewers would be naturally low. But this is not equal to the assertion that people dislike movies produced by Super Screen. Therefore, a thorough investigation for the market need to be carried to find out why fewer people are watching movies by Super Screen.

What is more, adducing the rising proportion of praise from movie reviewers, the author avers that the quality of movies made by Super Screen is not the reason why people are not watching them. This is problematic because we do not know how representative these evaluations are. Arguably, as fewer people are watching movies by Super Screen, those who are still remaining are mostly enthusiastic fans of the company, so the positive responses would be definitely high, simply because those dislike the movies are not watching at all. To fully understand people\'s evaluations for the quality of the movies, the company has to attain unbiased responses from a representative sample from all the potential audiance.

Last but not least, even if the quality of the movie made by Super Screen is high, this does not necessarily mean that spending more on advertising would solve the problem. There is a possibility that people are aware of the high quality of movies from the company, but they do not have time to watch them. Movies coming out during holidays tend to have better box office, for instance. So it is advisable for Super Screen to consider all the aspects that could have an impact on the number of reviewers.

In conclusion, while Super Screen Movie Production Company ought to take measures to attract more movie reviewers, the recommendation mentioned in the memo to infuse more expenditure on advitersing is not substantiated by the evidence proffered. Thus, it clearly does not show the necessity to spend more on propaganda.