The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The measure of greatness of a nation has been a long debated topic for centuries. Any one in this world would want to see their nation achieve greatness and they are willing to work hard for it. But the prompt question us that what is the measure of greatness, how can it be defined. There can be many different definitions depending on the thinking process of different individuals. In my opinion, the happier and the healthier the citizens of the country, more the greatness of the nation. Still I don't think my opinion to be hundred percent true. I will explain the topic using some examples.

If we start measuring the greatness of a nation based on it's achievements then the whole world will enter a rat race. No rest, no peace just the race of achieving one's goal. Is this the world we want. As an example United states has the highest achievements in the world compared to any other nation in most of the fields. But is every citizen of USA happy? Does every citizen of USA is taken good care of? The answer is obviously no. Many people in USA are homless, unemployed. Teh crime rate in USA is also increasing day by day. The rape cases are increasing and so on. Only a few who managed to fulfill their goals live a luxury life. Others still need to struggle for the basic amenities and work their ass off to provide for thier family. All this indicate that in the race of becoming great USA has forgotten what it takes to happy. On the other hand switzerland not the greatest in world in terms of achievements but is considered the happiest world in the nation. The goverement ensures welfare of their people, be it education or healthcare or food or shelter. Everyone has access to this basic amenities which makes the USA citizen to migrate to switzerland. In my opinion it is teh greatest nation in world.

But again some might disagree that without achievements there will be no competition and the human race will never able to achive the scientific knowledge they recieved over years. This can infact be also true but this again leads to a question what good are the achievements if they do not benefit our own people. Hence this a complex issue to be adressed and will forever remain in debate.