To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Progress and moral evaluation of societies has been carried out from time to time to understand the failure or success of a society. This study helps in creating a better society for everyone else on this planet. The prompt claims that to understand the characteristics of such a society, one has to study its major cities or the ones which are in limelight. I disagree with this claim for mainly two reasons.

If we go by this claim then to understand a society's characteristics we are not undertaking the full aspects by which the society is made. A society from its beginning cannot have some major progress or development which creates some major cities. Every society starts with something small, a small civilization or small village whose people then progress to make the society developed in every front. For example, if we talk about India then most of its people in major cities are the ones who migrated from smaller towns or villages. They are the building blocks of that major city. In fact, the major city would be a village in the past. The values of their ancestors passed down the generations which helped the creation of its major city. In India most of its characteristics can be understood from its villages which have seen ages of ups and downs. Thus ignoring the other section of society will give you an imperfect study which is based on the recent 50 to 60 year history.

On the other hand, if we see that from a different point of view there comes a question that why the villages India didn't progress. Why the people of that region had to migrate? It all leads to two possible answers that the people residing in the major cities were more creative, more hardworking or the city had some natural resources that helped it monetarily. For example, Bihar which produces a surplus amount of coal, which had a very prosperous history is now a living hell for most of the people. On the other hand, Mumbai which was a major port during British time became a major economy of the country. Hence we need to study both the areas major and non-major to understand the people, to understand the culture.

If we assume that claim to be correct then it is like studying the science of medicine but choosing only some certain major areas like cardio. Then we will have no dentist, no physician. One can imagine what a disaster this could make. Hence in a similar fashion we need to study all the areas of a society.